More

Episcopal High School

Pastoral Care

Non-Academic Counseling

Episcopal High School embraces the ideal of caring for our students on all levels, including their spiritual and emotional concerns. Parents are invited to come to the Dean of Spritual Life or Chaplain when they would like to talk about their child’s well-being.

In addition to our Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain, EHS offers a number of support resources for our students and families. Please see the “Support Resources” listings in the “Parent Information” section below.


Support Resources

EHS offers a number of different pastoral care and counseling resources. Beginning with the Advisory system, which places all students in small groups with faculty members, who meet with them weekly and guide them through all four years of their life here, students are surrounded by our entire team of caring teachers and coaches. In addition, the following support resources are available:

Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain: The Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain are known to the students through daily Chapel and from their presence around campus, and they are always available to meet with students and/or their families, to talk and to listen. Whether in response to extraordinary personal crisis or to the ordinary grind of daily issues, the Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain offer pastoral care to our EHS community. Contact The Rev. Philip Kochenburger (pkochenburger@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3409) or The Rev. Beth Holden (bholden@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3484).

Deans of Students: The Dean of Students and the Assistant Deans of Students are available to assist parents and students with the daily life of students outside the classroom. Parents and students can receive help addressing all the trials and tribulations students face in high school. The Deans of Students’ Office is always open to students and their families. Contact Dean of Students, Kim Randolph (krandolph@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3465), Assistant Dean of Students, Wayne Jones (wjones@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3469), or Meghan Moake (mmoake@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3461).School Psychologist: Dr. Beth Fowler is the Staff Psychologist. She is available to see students, parents, and staff for consultation and brief counseling. Appointments can be made by calling 713-795-5354 or by email at bfowler@ehshouston.org. Her office is located in the Chapel behind the altar and can be accessed through the Transept. This service is provided free for EHS families and staff. On occasion, EHS will recommend that a student see Dr. Fowler. If you do not want your child to be seen by Dr. Fowler, please notify her at the contact information listed above.

School Nurse: Mrs. Jane Kavanagh assists with students who become ill during the day, contacting parents as needed, and coordinates between the school and parents regarding extended medical absences. Contact Jane Kavanagh, R.N. (jkavanagh@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3403).

Academic Deans: The Academic Dean and Assistant Academic Dean are available to assist parents and students with academic matters. Parents and students can receive advice concerning course selection, have questions answered, and receive help in structuring a program that best meets the needs and abilities of the individual student. Contact Academic Dean, Mary Newton (mnewton@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3412) or Assistant Academic Dean, Eric Lerch (elerch@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3690).

Academic Assistance: The Academic Assistance Program (AAP) provides support, as determined by the School, for students who need help with academic skills. From general difficulty with motivation or organization, to specifically diagnosed learning disabilities, AAP can step in to help students get back on track, offer skill training, mentoring, monitoring, and/or arrange for special accommodations in testing and in the classroom. Based upon educational testing documentation, students may request the services of one of two approved language learning specialists during the school day. Contact Jenny Cantrell (jcantrell@ehshouston.org), Director of Academic Assistance 713-512-3677.

Choices Counselor: Choices Counselor: Sam Scharff, LPC-Intern, LCDC, is the Choices Counselor at EHS. Choices is a partnership between Episcopal High School and the Council on Recovery, where Ms. Scharff has been working as an adolescents, adult, and family therapist. Ms. Scharff is on campus full-time, and available to see students and parents for consultation and professional counseling. Appointments can be made by emailing her at sscharff@ehshouston.org. This service is provided free of charge to all EHS students and their families. Her office is located in A148, which is in the hallway between Alkek Gym and the Underwood Theater.