More

Pastoral Care

NON-ACADEMIC COUNSELING

Episcopal High School provides professional pastoral care for students and families facing difficulties, crises, or spiritual and emotional challenges.

Parents can always contact the Dean of Spritual Life or Chaplain to discuss their youth's well-being or family matters that they are facing. We are here to help!


SUPPORT RESOURCES

EHS offers additional support and counseling resources. 


The Advisory system places all students in small groups with faculty members - advisors - who meet with them weekly. The advisor remains the same through students' four-year EHS journey, to provide guidance, support, and encouragement.

EHS students are surrounded by our team of caring teachers, coaches, advisors, grade-level deans, priests and counselors.

Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain: The Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain offer pastoral care to our EHS community, including students, parents, faculty and staff. The Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain get to know all students through daily chapel and on-campus interactions throughout the school day. Contact The Rev. Philip Kochenburger at pkochenburger@ehshouston.org, or 713-512-3409, and The Rev. Beth Holden at bholden@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3484.

Deans of Students: The Dean of Students and the Grade Level Deans are available to assist parents and students with daily life concerns of students inside and outside the classroom. The deans help students navigate the challenging experiences of high school:

Contact Dean of Students, Mr. Kim Randolph, at krandolph@ehshouston.org; 713-512-3465)

9th Grade-Level Dean Mr. Eric Lerch at elerch@ehshouston.org or 713-512-3690

10th Grade-Level Dean Mrs. Meghan Moake at mmoake@ehshouston.org or 713-512-3461

11th Grade-Level Dean Mr. Wayne Jones at wjones@ehshouston.orgor 713-512-3469

12th Grade-Level Dean Mrs. Jessica Adams at jadams@ehshouston.org.

School Psychologist: Dr. Beth Fowler is the EHS Staff Psychologist. She is 
available to see students, parents, and staff for consultation and brief 
counseling. For appointments, call 713-824-2113 or bfowler@ehshouston.org. Her office is co-located in the school clinic in the Chapel, behind the altar wall, and can be accessed through the Transept. Dr. Fowler's services are provided free for EHS families and staff. On occasion, EHS will recommend that a student see Dr. Fowler. If you do not want your child to be seen by Dr. Fowler, please notify her at the contact information listed above. 


School Nurse: Mrs. Jane Kavanagh assists with students who become ill during the day, contacting parents as needed, and coordinates between the school and parents regarding extended medical absences. The school clinic is located in the Chapel, behind the altar area, and can be accessed through the Transept. Contact Mrs. Jane Kavanagh, R.N. at jkavanagh@ehshouston.org or 713-512-3403.

Academic Dean: The Academic Dean assists parents and students with academic matters, such as advice concerning course selection and help in structuring a program that best meets the needs and abilities of each student. Contact Academic Dean, Mrs. Nancy Eisenberg at neisenberg@ehshouston.org or 713-512-3412.

Academic Assistance: The Academic Assistance Program (AAP) provides support, as determined by the School, for students who need help with academic skills. From general difficulty with motivation or organization, to specifically diagnosed learning disabilities, AAP can step in to help students get back on track, offer skill training, mentoring, monitoring, and/or arrange for special accommodations in testing and in the classroom. Based upon educational testing documentation, students may request the services of one of two approved language learning specialists during the school day. Contact Ms. Jenny Cantrell (jcantrell@ehshouston.org), Director of Academic Assistance 
713-512-3677.

Choices Counselor: Mrs. Sam Scharff, LPC-Intern, LCDC, is the Choices Counselor at EHS. Choices is a partnership between Episcopal High School and the Council on Recovery. Mrs. Scharff has extensive experience in adolescent, adult, and family therapy. She is on campus full-time, and available to see students and parents for consultation and professional counseling. For appointments, contact her at sscharff@ehshouston.org. This service is provided free of charge to all EHS students and their families. Her office is currently located just outside and to the left of the foyer for the new Hildebrand Athletic Center.