Skip To Main Content

Six EHS students have been recognized in the 2023 Scholastic Writing Awards, a one hundred-year- old national writing competition for high school students. Past winners have included Amanda Gorman, Stephen King, and Robert McCloskey (Make Way for Ducklings). EHS’s six students received 11 awards in four categories:  poetry, short story, journalism, and critical essay. 

Please see the list of students and their awards below. 


Ava Black

“Poetry Drowning”                 Poetry             Honorable Mention (HM)

“Treating Me Right”                Poetry             Honorable Mention


Rishabh Sharma

“A Small Perspective”             Short Story      Silver Key

“The Apple”                            Poetry             Honorable Mention

“The Uncharted Amazon”      Short Story      Honorable Mention


Lily O’Gorman

“Houston Concrete Plants Prompt Civil Rights Investigations”                     Journalism      Silver Key

“Renewable Energy Development Faces Powerful NIMBY Opposition”       Journalism      Silver Key

“Russian Conflict Halts Europe's Transition to Green Energy and                 Journalism      HM

Prompts Resurgence of Nuclear Power”                                           


Jalynn Woolley                      

“2022 FIFA World Cup: Qatar's Complete Violation of Human Rights”         Journalism      Silver Key


Morgan Herod                       

“True Crime in the Media: How it Negatively Affects Us”                             Critical Essay   HM


 Campbell Richardson            

“Qatar 2022 World Cup”                                                                                 Journalism      HM