Student Achievement News Archive

Knights Cap Outstanding Fall with SPC Titles

The girls volleyball team completed an outstanding season with a 3-0 win over ESD in the SPC championship game in front of a large and spirited group of fans Saturday afternoon in Alkek Gym. The Knights earned their spot in the championship game with earlier tournament wins over Houston Christian (3-0) and St. John's (3-0). The win marks the Knights second SPC title in three years and gave the team an impressive 35-4 record this season.

The EHS football team captured their first SPC title in five years with a thrilling 42-21 win over Kinkaid at Butler Stadium. The Knights used an overpowering running game, led by Quon Marion's 270 yards rushing and three TD's, to complete the season sweep of the Falcons. Adrian Cormier's 119 yards rushing and two TD's gave the Knights two running backs who eclipsed the century mark on the ground. The Knight defense held the Falcons to 21 points and stifled the Falcon offense in the fourth quarter.

The girls cross country team ran one of their best races of the season Saturday morning at Spring Creek Park in Tomball and took home their second consecutive SPC Runner-Up trophy. The Knights were led by All-SPC runners KitKat Kwiatkowski, Kate Freeman, and Ella Newman. Alena Haney, Lucy Holden, and Elizabeth McLauchlin each ran fantastic races to help the Knights reach the podium. The EHS boys cross country team finished twelfth in a very competitive SPC field.

The field hockey team capped an outstanding weekend with an impressive 3-1 win over Greenhill to take fifth place in the SPC. The finish marks the highest finish for the Knights in more than ten years. The Knights began tournament play with a thrilling 1-0 overtime win over Hockaday and gave North Zone #1 seed Trinity Valley all they could handle before falling 1-0 in overtime in the quarterfinal matchup.

The boys volleyball team overcame a tough 3-2 loss to Greenhill in the quarterfinals and defeated St. Andrews 3-0 and place fifth in the SPC. The Knights finished an outstanding season with a record of 22-12.

Congratulations to our students and coaches for their achievements this past season and we look forward to honoring all of our fall varsity teams at Wednesday's athletic awards chapel in Alkek Gym.

Knights Win the 2019 SPC Football Championship

Football defeated Kinkaid 42-21 to capture the crown! #KnightsStandOut

Stay tuned for final Fall SPC results or catch up on Twitter:

Knights Capture the 2019 SPC Girls Volleyball Championship

Girls volleyball defeated ESD 3-0 and capture the 2019 SPC Championship! #KnightsStandOut

Stay tuned for final Fall SPC results or catch up on Twitter:

Celebrating Our Seniors

Last week's Leaving Tree Tradition, Baccalaureate Chapel, and Commencement celebrations joyfully capped off our seniors' four years at Episcopal High School. Saturday's Baccalaureate speaker, The Rev. Kai Ryan, Suffragan Bishop Elect and mother of senior Eleanor Ryan, referenced poet Mary Oliver when encouraging the Class of 2019 to pay attention to the world around them and claim a purpose in life. After the guidance, support, and knowledge gained at EHS she asked, "What is it you plan to do with your one wild and precious life?" Rev. Ryan reminded the students that change does not always happen through grand gestures. "Every day you can change the world for the better with one small kindness."

Soon after Chapel at the Senior Banquet, Mea Ayers was announced as the 2019 valedictorian and Gabrielle Small was named salutatorian. Mark Nylund was named Outstanding Male Student and Tyler Donovan was named Outstanding Female Student. The Spirit Award went to Ellie Gilchrist, the Citizenship Award to Claire Kardesch, the Head of School Award went to both Amiri Scrutchin and Jordan Wells, and the Jess Borg Award went to Mitchell Mostyn.

On Sunday, Commencement speaker and valedictorian Mea Ayers compared her fellow students' transformation and growth during high school to the legendary Charlie Brown Christmas tree. Exhibiting potential--if a little awkward—as freshmen, she commented, by senior year they were bright and shiny and standing tall. "Shine!" Ayers exclaimed."Be a beacon of goodness, of compassion, of hope. Take on life's new adventures and gain new values. But remember the values you learned at EHS: to lead lives of significance in service to others."

In total, 182 seniors will attend more than 73 colleges and universities throughout the United States and abroad, where they have earned almost $20 million in scholarships and grants.