Skip To Main Content

PASTORAL CARE & SUPPORT RESOURCES


Navigating the hills and valleys of high school can be tricky! Episcopal High School places a high value on creating a support network for our students and families facing difficulties, crises, or spiritual and emotional challenges.


SUPPORT RESOURCES

The Advisory system places all students in small groups with faculty members - advisors - who meet with them weekly. The advisor remains the same through students' four-year EHS journey, to provide guidance, support, and encouragement.

The team in the column to the right make up our Student Support Group. Meeting bi-weekly, they bring any concerns they may have for individual students, general concerns about our community’s well-being, or trending issues, in hopes that no student would fall through the cracks at EHS. Individually and from their own unique perspectives, they also work with students to provide support.

Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain: The Dean of Spiritual Life and Chaplain offer emotional, social and spiritual support to our EHS community, including students, parents, faculty and staff.

Mental Health Counselor: Our Mental Health Counselor is on campus full-time and available by appointment to see students, parents, and staff for consultation and brief counseling. Her services are provided free for EHS families and staff. On occasion, EHS will recommend that a student see the Mental Health Counselor. If you do not want your child to be seen by her, please notify her.

Choices Counselor: Our Choices Counselor is provided through our partnership with the Council on Recovery. The Choices Counselor is on campus full-time and available by appointment to see students and parents for consultation and professional counseling. This service is provided free of charge to all EHS students and their families.

Director of Diversity, Community, and Inclusion: Our Director of Diversity, Community, and Inclusion is an important part of our support team, leading our efforts to strengthen our sense of community, attentive to matters of diversity, race, and respect for the dignity of each person.

School Nurse: The School Nurse assists with students who become ill during the day, contacting parents as needed, and coordinates between the school and parents regarding extended medical absences. The clinic is located off the breeze-way between the Student Center and Hildebrand Athletic Center, facing the courtyard and Brown Field.

Academic Assistance: The Academic Assistance Program (AAP) provides support, as determined by the School, for students who need help with academic skills. From general difficulty with motivation or organization, to specifically diagnosed learning disabilities, AAP can step in to help students get back on track, offer skill training, mentoring, monitoring, and/or arrange for special accommodations in testing and in the classroom.

Associate Head of School: The Associate Head of School is available to assist parents and students with questions related to the school and happy integration into the EHS community.

Principal and Grade Level Deans: The Principal and the Grade Level Deans are also available to assist parents and students with daily life concerns of students inside and outside the classroom. They know the particular stressors and concerns of their grade level and are well-acquainted with the dynamics of their student makeup.

 

Our Pastoral Care program is designed to ensure that students feel supported. We want them to leave here with a sense of purpose, belonging, and direction.

– Beth Holden, Chaplain and Religion faculty

Want to Talk?

Dean of Spiritual Life:
The Rev. Beth Holden
BHolden@EHSHouston.org or
713-512-3484

Chaplain:
The Rev. Art Callaham
ACallaham@EHSHouston.org or
713-512-3610

Curate/Chaplain:
The Rev. Katie Gould
KGould@EHSHouston.org or
713-512-3443

Mental Health Counselors:
Contact Rev. Beth Holden for information

School Nurse:
Mrs. Tiffany Thoman, RN
TThoman@EHShouston.org
(713)512-3403

Academic Assistance Program Director:
Mrs. Jenny Cantrell
JCantrell@EHSHouston.org or
713-512-3677

Principal:
Dr. Antonio Avalos
AAvalos@EHSHouston.org or
713-512-3690

Senior Grade Level Dean: Mr. Isaiah Coleman - icoleman@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3499

Junior Grade Level Dean: Mr. Mark Mitchell - mitchell@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3475

Sophomore Grade Level Dean: Ms. Shelley Edmonds - SEdmonds@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3495

Freshman Grade Level Dean:  Mrs. Meghan Moake - MMoake@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3461

Assistant Grade Level Dean – 12th: Mr. Julius Michael - jmichael@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3613

Assistant Grade Level Dean – 11th: Mr. John Drexel - JDrexel@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3449

Assistant Grade Level Dean – 10th: Mr. Dan Murphy - DMurphy@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-

Assistant Grade Level Dean – 9th: Mr. Paul Revaz - prevaz@EHSHouston.org or 713-512-3657